Rhubarb Season

This being rhubarb season, I spent a few moments today wondering if I should try to come up with an innovative rhubarb recipe for this blog–perhaps something with artisanal bread crumbs and goat cheese. But I remembered with relief that rhubarb is a resolutely old-fashioned thing, and there is no need to modernize. It need only be fashioned into a crunch, a crumble, or a pie to fulfill its destiny.

This recipe comes from “Country Cooking: Recipes from the Women of Grace Lutheran Church, Lily Lake, Illinois, 1959.” It was contributed by Hazel Ekstrom, and I present the recipe as written, including Hazel’s “Very good.” I love to find recipes like this! (I include the whole page, just in case you would like to try the Blueberry Torte.) I added a quarter teaspoon of salt to the flour and oatmeal mixture. Hazel is maddeningly silent on exactly what kind of baking pan to use–metal or Pyrex? I used a black metal pan to give the Crunch a French feel. I’m sure Hazel would be fine with it.  I also placed the pan on a baking sheet to capture any drips or spillovers. The last words of this recipe: “Serve warm and top with whipped cream,” speak more directly to my heart than the finest poetry.

Rhubarb Crunch cooling on the back steps.
2 thoughts on “Rhubarb Season

  1. Yum! I just made a strawberry rhubarb pie with my dad’s grandma’s filling recipe and have some extra rhubarb. I now have a good use to put it to! Thanks, Aunt Fran!

Leave a Reply

