Dressed like a Bedouin . . .

Dressed like a Bedouin–scarf looped around my neck, dark glasses, all-terrain shoes–I set out with my sister Kathy on Saturday to enjoy the Batavia Illinois Plain Dirt Gardeners 2011 Garden Walk. I always come back from garden walks a bit depressed, because everyone’s garden is so much nicer than mine. All the other gardeners seem to work so much harder and have the most fabulous ideas. But it’s also inspirational, and today I found myself finally attacking the vinca in my backyard, and thinking about how to better showcase my hostas. At any rate, here is a gallery of ideas gleaned from the Walk, which showcased a group of uniformly fabulous gardens. I especially liked the Raimondi garden out in Elburn, because there was a sense of a real partnership with nature and I loved its feeling of being on the edge of wildness, but all the gardens were amazing. Loved the delphineums, the roses, the perfect lawns, the water features, the tatted fern, the lovely courtyards, the delightful tea at the Holmstad, the sheer imagination of it all.

3 thoughts on “Dressed like a Bedouin . . .

  1. Enjoyed these pics so much! I wouldn’t have thought hydrangea and sedum, either. So pretty! Hey, Fran, did you know there is a sedum native to Illinois?? It’s called Sedum ternatum. It’s cute, with little white flowers dotted with purply dots. And here’s what’s REALLY cool . . . like all sedums, it likes dry to medium soil, but is a WOODLANDER!! Woo hoo! I took your advice about dry shade (in your book) and got some epimedium. It is VERY pretty, but takes a while to spread, I suspect. Maybe this little guy will “advance” into the garden . . . in a polite way, of course. : ) Is that you and your sis in the middle picture? That is so cute!! You guys have lots of fun!!

  2. I’m lucky to have a sister like Kathy–she’s a garden designer, and we love to talk gardening and do gardening things together. Epimediums spread slowly but surely. Don’t forget to look for their lovely little flowers in spring. They are wonderful plants. Definitely will look into the Sedum ternatum. Thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

