Through the Moroccan Blue Door

You may be familiar with the following scenario: young couple moves into fixer-upper and plans to be there for two, oh, maybe three years before they move on to greener pastures. Time passes and they discover that they are in greener pastures, and before you know it 25 years have passed. This is what happened when Jim and I moved from Oak Park, Illinois, to St. Charles. One of the first things I did when we moved into our house was to paint the back door Moroccan blue. Where I got this idea, I’m not sure, though I have always loved looking through art books, and love to look at the Moroccan paintings of Henri Matisse, which glow with beautiful blues. I have read that Moroccan doors are often painted blue to repel evil. Somehow this all came together in painting the door the Moroccan blue of my imagination.

Entrance-to-the-Kasbah by Matisse

The paint has become more worn and alligatored over the years and just gets better and better. From the Something for (Almost) Nothing standpoint, I paid four dollars for a can of blue paint, and have enjoyed this door for years. Every time I walk though it, I experience a tiny, almost subliminal flash of something magical and Moroccan, and am a bit surprised when I find myself in our kitchen and not in a mysterious Kasbah.

8 thoughts on “Through the Moroccan Blue Door

  1. Fran,
    I have been to Morroco. I was in Tangiers a few years ago. Strolling the streets and alleys of this vibrant city, you see doors that are many, many colors, including this vibrant, beautiful blue shown here on your door. What a bright and lively statement! In Tangiers, these brightly colored doors served as a backdrop in the dusty streets and alleys filled with lively children playing soccer, running races and enjoying the sunshine. Sounds like your door serves as a backdrop to an equally fun and interesting life in Illinois.

    1. How wonderful to have been there. I’ve always been interested in Moroccan cooking, as well. Did you have anything delicious to eat while you were there? Fran

      1. Fran,
        We went to a wonderful restaurant that served a Morrocan Chicken in a casserole type dish. It was so delicious and very tender, with spices and herbs combinations I was not familiar with and would never have thought to combine. My daughter still talks about that restaurant and that meal!

  2. Oh, this is GORGEOUS, especially with the lace curtain! And I like the painting behind it – sort of a counterpoint with the ominous but beautiful clouds throwing shadow onto the lit path below. Reminds me a bit of the yin and yang of life.

    Fran, you’ll probably relate to this: I went garage saling last weekend and came upon a sweet Japanese couple who were downsizing. I came away with a beautiful “bead curtain” – a 2 or 2 1/2 foot wood bar strung with wooden beads. The gentleman said it was from Japan and bowed to me when I bought it! Wonderful.

    A blue door may repel evil, but I think it’s because blue evokes light, honesty, and joy! Doesn’t it seem that way? Blessings for a great blog!

    1. Thank you Sherri! There is a story behind the “painting.” I had been at a resale shop and saw it there, for $10, and thought, well that’s nice. I went home, and had a delayed reaction–I had to have it for my kitchen. I sped back to the store, really afraid that it would be gone–but it was still there, and I bought it. It’s a reproduction Dutch genre painting, probably by someone who was the Thomas Kincaid of his day.

      1. So cool!! Yes, my Mom loves Kinkaid. I like paintings with light, too, but Kincaid is a bit too sugery. I sort of go for the light and shadow thing, like this one. I love the imagery of a bit of sun coming through storm clouds.

  3. I love the door and the curtain. I may have to do the same thing. I think it would make me so much happier than the boring white door with the uncurtained window. Maybe I wouldn’t notice the mess on the other side if I was dreaming of Morocco when I walked in.

    1. Go for it. It’s a small, inexpensive project, and vivid color can be an upper. It’s hard to go wrong with blue, but please read Sue’s comment above about all the different colored doors she saw in Tangiers (lucky dog). Whatever speaks to you.

Leave a Reply

