Today in the Garden

My fuchsia phlox with Flowering Spurge in the lower left corner.

Garden Phlox

Here come the phlox, looking fluffy and beautiful. To me, phlox = summer, echoing the puffy, cumulus clouds of a summer sky. I love my one-and-only phlox, a deep fuchsia pink variety I received as a trade at GardenWeb.com. I’ve had it for years now, and it has been totally mildew-free. There is always trouble in paradise, however, and this year I noticed a yellowing and dimpling of some of the leaves. Googling brought up the possibility of  two-spotted spider mite, which apparently causes yellowing, but a close examination of the leaves showed no webs. My guess is that it’s a virus. What to do? For starters, remind myself not to leave a plant in one spot for ten years, basically neglecting it.  It’s good garden practice to lift and divide a perennial periodically, removing any dead or diseased material, renewing the soil, and generally spiffing it up. Next spring, I will dig it up and do this, and  treat with some insecticidal soap, just in case it’s the spider mite.

A Plant for Dry Shade

Big Leaf Aster

Since plants for dry shade are always in short supply, here’s something to consider: Aster macrophyllus, or Large Leaf Aster. As you can see in the picture, it’s not a tender rose or lovely violet, but a sturdy, dependable,  no-nonsense plant that looks nice, not wonderful, and why am I complaining? I guess because I like tender roses and lovely violets better. But it is nice to have something a bit different for dry shade.

Hosta sunburn.

Hosta Sunburn

Can hostas get sunburned? Absolutely. The summer before last some nearby trees were taken down, and suddenly, piercing late-afternoon beams of sun like death rays zapped a cluster of hostas in the back garden.  As you can see, it’s not pretty. Interestingly, most of the other shade plants, including other hosta varieties, vinca, wild ginger, and sweet woodruff were unaffected. Unless I can come up with hosta suntan lotion, it looks like it will have to be moved.

Happy Summer!
4 thoughts on “Today in the Garden

  1. Fran, your phlox are mildew free – in late July! That is almost miraculous. I love them, but quit growing them because of the mildew and I could never get out there with my “anti mildew stuff” (can’t even remember what it is) in time. Beautiful!

  2. And the maddening thing is, since I got them as an Internet trade, I really don’t know what they are–they came in the mail in a shoebox. They also don’t self-seed, so there are no wishy washy lavender seedlings.

  3. Pingback: Bucino ulje
  4. Thanks for the marvelous posting! I certainly enjoyed reading it, you could be a great author.I will ensure that I bookmark your blog and may come back later on. I want to encourage you to ultimately continue your great posts, have a nice weekend!

Leave a Reply

