Just for Pretty: Crocheted Corner Bookmark

I’ll admit that a crocheted corner bookmark is not high on anybody’s list of necessities, and that in the days of the e-book it’s downright silly. And it doesn’t even do as good a job as a torn envelope. But that’s okay. I find myself moving in the opposite direction of e-books–I would rather read slower, not faster, and I like losing myself in a really good book, not zipping along efficiently. At any rate, I came across this little pattern in the May-June 1985 edition of “Annie’s Crochet Newsletter,”  tore it out, and found it in my clipping file yesterday. So I sat crocheting last night while Jim and I watched “Breaking Bad.” I made one bookmark in cream-colored crochet cotton, and another in blue linen thread. Just a suggestion: one of these bookmarks with a wonderful book would make a nice Christmas present.

To begin you need a ball of Size 20 crochet cotton (sometimes called “fine crochet thread”) and a size 4 crochet hook.

Side (make 2)

Row 1: Ch4, 3 dc in 4th ch from hook, turn (4).

Row 2: Ch 3, dc in same st, 2 dc in each of next 3 sts, turn (8).

Row 3-5: Ch 3, dc in same st, dc in each st across with 2 dc in last st, turn (10, 12, 14).

Row 6: Ch 3, dc in same st, 2 dc in next st, dc in next 10 sts, 2 dc in each of last 2 sts, turn (18).

Row 7: Ch 3, dc in same st, 2 dc in next st, dc in next 7 sts, 2 dc in next st, dc in next 6 sts, 2 dc in each of last 2 sts, turn (23).

Row 8: Ch 4, skip next st, sc in next st, (ch 3, skip next st, sc in next st) across (11 ch sps). Fasten off.

Hold wrong sides tog; matching sts and working through both thicknesses, join with sc in end of row 7, sc in end of same row, 2 sc in each of next 6 rows, 3 sts in corner, 2 sc in each of next 7 rows (31). Fasten off.

This bookmark was crocheted with linen thread.
5 thoughts on “Just for Pretty: Crocheted Corner Bookmark

  1. Love the little crochet bookmarks!

    I’m intrigued by the book, though, too, especially the puzzling statement that because of their dull eyesight, bears “seek the combs of bees, in order that from the bees stinging them in the throat and drawing blood, the oppression in the head may be relieved.” Hmm . . . I would think that they seek the combs of bees because they smell the honey and cannot see the bees. But, the book stated it so prettily – I love the old ways of writing.

    BUT . . . if I EVER saw a circus guy hit a bear on the head with his fist, well . . . he wouldn’t know what hit HIM!!!

    1. Thanks. The book was written long ago, by a Roman author named Pliny.
      I hate to see bears at circuses, too. Probably why I haven’t been to a circus in a long, long time. Fran

  2. Does the book mark stay in place? My doubt is it might slip off if the book is carried around. I found another book thong that slips between the pages and goes around the spine of the book and would stay put no matter what! Just a thought, though, the bookmark looks sooo pretty!

    1. Hi Georgina–It does stay in place, but I have to admit, if I were reading something like a paperback novel, that I would be picking up and putting down a lot, this wouldn’t be the book mark I would use! It’s main drawback is that you have to be a little careful putting it on the corner of the page. But it’s so pretty, I think it’s worth it! Thanks for stopping by. Fran

Leave a Reply

