Fun with Moth-eaten Yarn

I hope you didn’t get too much of a fright opening up this post and finding yourself confronted with a Christmas-ish picture, but we are heading into my favorite part of Christmas: the weeks before we are confronted with the realities of Christmas and can still enjoy the fantasy. Soon enough we will be confronted with the problem of what to buy for Mrs. McGillicuddy, but now we can dream of candlelit darkness, of coziness, of how theoretically delicious fruitcakes are. I was in just such a state of Christmas intoxication as I browsed through a pamphlet of  crocheted edgings, thinking that they were rather time-consuming and fiddly to make, when it occurred to me that if crocheted in yarn instead of thread that they might make lacy festoons for a Christmas tree. So I picked up a ball of white wool yarn, a crochet hook, and started to crochet. In my state of intoxication, I misread the pattern and came up with an entirely new pattern, which I like better than the original: it’s a slender lacy braid that can be woven in and out of the tree branches. I also discovered that the yarn was a bit moth-eaten, but I was able to cut out the moth eaten portion and tie the ends tightly together, and then clip close to the knot.

This is a very open-ended project. Think of the usual size of your tree and rummage in your yarn basket to see what yarn you can come up with. Of course, you can also purchase yarn–my estimate is that a 4-ounce skein of knitting worsted will probably be enough for an average-size tree (5 or 6 feet in height). The color is up to you, but my suggestions are white, cream, or pale blue. It could also be fun if you can find white acrylic yarn with sparkles. You may wish want a more delicate lace, in which case you could try a sport weight yarn. I used a size 5 crochet hook.

This lace has a natural spiral to it: you can either spiral it through the tree branches, or lightly steam it so it stays straight.

Lace Wool Christmas Tree Festoon

Row 1: Chain 4,single crochet in third chain from hook, chain one, work (double crochet, chain one, double crochet) in first chain stitch.

Row 2: Chain four; turn. Single crochet in third chain from hook, chain one, work (double crochet, chain one, double crochet) in first chain one space. Repeat this row until chain is desired length.

2 thoughts on “Fun with Moth-eaten Yarn

  1. Wow! How lovely. I needed a nice homespun idea for my tree this Christmas. This looks like it! We have a special holiday planned this year and this will do nicely to bring an old fashioned feel to our tree! Thanks, Fran.

Leave a Reply

