Come, Spring, Come

The bird feeders are swaying in the gusts of March winds, birds are urgently flying from feeder to tree and back again, and there is a general sense of a state of emergency in the early spring garden–it could snow tomorrow! Earlier, I had stepped out into the garden and picked up a few big fallen branches and set them onto the wood pile–this is what amounts to gardening this time of year. I scurried back inside, but not before I had taken a few snapshots of all the shoots emerging from the cold soil to remind myself that as barren as a garden may seem now, that green life is all around, just waiting for nature’s go-ahead to grow.

The seeds I had planted some weeks ago are tucked under their little snow blankets, and could not be happier.

Meanwhile, nature has planted and chilled her own seeds. These are larkspur seedlings. A snow fall will not bother them at all.

The hellebores are also happy. They will be among the first perennials to awaken from their winter’s sleep.

St. Fiacre, the patron saint of gardening, waits patiently.

Chives and tarragon shoots were also coming up, as well as daffodils, and the perennial poppy. And weeds!

While we are still in the late winter gardening mode, here are two websites that I have found to be particularly enjoyable: Carolyn’s Shade Gardens has great photos of hellebores, snowdrops, and early spring flowering shrubs. And snowdropinfo.com has everything for the “galanthophile” (hardcore snowdrop lover), including a jaw-dropping gallery of snowdrops, which seem to inspire a pleasant kind of madness.

5 thoughts on “Come, Spring, Come

  1. Oh, the larkspur reminds me of a story – 2 years ago, I took the advice you gave in your book and gave up on the diva delphs, opting for some larkspur seed sown in a flat outside in fall. (Back story – the flat was actually a pine wood box, about 2′ X 2′ and 5″ high, that I got for $2 at an antique store) All was great and they were germinating in April. Oh, happiness! In May, I excitedly ran to the box to prick the little guys out and – BAM!! – the whole bottom had rotted and fell out! About 30 little seedlings lay, as if slain, on the concrete. WAAAHHHH!!! I cried. Daryl was out there and said, “Well, maybe we can get a couple that aren’t torn and . . . ” “NO!!!! Forget it” was my retort. Apparantly I hadn’t taken my meds that day. : ) Ah, such is the gardening life . . .

    1. That’s a heartbreaking story! Hope you try again–they are nice to have in a cottage garden. If you do try again, sow them directly into the garden, and mark the spot.

      1. No, it’s probably too late. How about if I send you a clump in a month or so when they are big enough to stand the journey? I’d be glad to. Fran

Leave a Reply

