Seeing Purple . . . and Blue

Allium 'Purple Sensation'

Just days ago, I was able to come up with quite a list of golden leaves and flowers in my garden, but today I was struck by the elegant purples and blues. Giant purple alliums, their flower heads floating like purple polka dots above the garden, head the list.

One of my favorite geraniums, Geranium phaeum, which is sometimes called Dusky Cranesbill, has beautiful bi-color leaves as well as flowers in a hard-to-describe shade of luscious purple-red–perhaps you could say they are the color of a grape Popsicle.

An all-time great perennial geranium is Geranium macrorrhizum. It’s tolerant of dry shade, and its leaves are fragrant with a resinous scent. And the flowers are pretty!

I’m not always a fan of ajuga, since it hops, skips, and jumps through my garden, but I love Ajuga ‘Chocolate Chips.’ It forms a tight mat of small bronze leaves, and flowers beautifully.

Painted ferns are indispensable in the garden–their odd coloring seems to goes with everything in a shade garden, and the leaves create a beautiful patterned effect.

These Spanish bluebells (Hyacinthoides hispanica) pick up the blue grey in this Heuchera ‘Silver Scrolls.”

Here’s a closer look at the ‘Silver Scrolls.’

From my sister’s garden–a luscious apricot iris, which somehow looks good with these purples and blues.

Time to put down my shovel and sit on the back porch . . .

and blow on a dandelion.

6 thoughts on “Seeing Purple . . . and Blue

  1. So beautiful, Fran. I think I may graduate from loving blue/purple with soft yellow to blue/purple with apricot – it seems so much more elegant! Fran, thanks for your posts – they are really wonderful day brighteners!

Leave a Reply

