Larkspur Days

The day began with Jim putting the flag out for Memorial Day. As though also in celebration, larkspur is in full bloom.

Jim, my sister Kathy and I went over to church for the pancake breakfast. Our church, the United Methodist Church of Geneva, Illinois, is on the left, and is not visible in this picture.

Cooks hard at work, including Pastor Bill, in the foreground.

There was quite a crowd, with music, a fire truck, and plenty of pancakes.

Pancakes don’t totally agree with me, so back at home it took several hours to recover from the breakfast.

Walking through the garden helped restore me. I noticed how the giant purple alliums look great at all phases of their life. Here they look like fireworks, and in their last incarnation they can serve as fairy wands.

I love perennial foxgloves, and if you have dry shade, they are wonderful and really drought tolerant. This is Digitalis lutea.

This is either Digitalis ambigua or purpurea. They are very similar, and I can’t remember which is which. If you want to learn more about foxgloves, I have found a good site, called Rob’s Plants, with pictures of many varieties and species.

The poppies have gone by with the last few days of heat and wind hurrying their departure.

Bees have found the perennial geraniums. I find watching bees to be the most relaxing activity.

Serbian bellflower (Campanula poscharskyana) is a wonderful little perennial with wildflower charm.

A closeup of a Serbian bellflower.

The Fairy rose is coming into bloom. These are the perfect little flowers to tuck into the bow of a gift.

Time to make gooseberry jam!

Back indoors, I spent some time watercoloring.

Can I ask for more? A cat, some watercolors and an onion to paint. Life is good.

Later we took a ride in the country with Kathy and my Mom. Lots of beautiful, summery cumulus clouds.

All in all, a wonderful larkspur day, and I thank God for it.

9 thoughts on “Larkspur Days

  1. Sounds like a wonderful day, Fran! I love how the one little flower in the digitalis lutea faces opposite that of his brothers. He marches to his own drum. I will have to try lutea – after several years of frustration with regular digitalis, I discovered ambigua, which I love. Lutea is so cute though, with the flowers lined up like little soldiers (excepting the AWOL one)! Thanks for a great post . . . as always!

  2. There’s one in every crowd. I think the summers are just too hot here for biennial foxgloves. I have seen them growing wild by the roadside in northern New York, where its probably cooler.

  3. P.S. The larkspur is beautiful. I think I didn’t mention it because, um, I feel sorta guilty. That is . . . I think I accidentally killed the one you sent me. : ( I feel bad about this! I planted it NEXT TO a Sum and Substance hosta that was coming up, not realizing – duh – that the hosta will get quite large as it emerges. Poor larkspur was quickly no longer NEXT TO but UNDER big boy hosta and received no light for the few days I was blind to this fact. He slowly whithered while I watered. Maybe he’ll come back. ** sob **

    1. Don’t give up! When these go to seed, I’ll send you some. These larkspur seem extra big and powerful–the seeds should do the trick.

  4. Really lovely post – I especially like the faded beauty of plants such as the allium and poppy. Simples pleasures really are the best in life x Your gooseberries look much healthier than mine… I think they have mildew!

Leave a Reply

