Fall Weekend

It was a cool, beautiful weekend, and, among other things, I took more bird photos, went to the Kane County Flea Market, and baked bread. I was happy to take this “glamour shot” of the female cardinal.

Another glamour shot.

The inner bird.

We’re hoping this will be enough bird seed for the winter, but who knows?

The Kane County Flea Market is one of the biggest in the Midwest. The county fair is held in July, and animals are exhibited in these sheds. Now, though, the sheds are used for the flea market.

You can find pretty much anything. Here are some chalk ware dogs and cats.

Passed this vendor with her beautiful dog, who was wearing sunglasses. I had to ask why!

She said that the glasses protected her dog’s eyes from dust (the sheds have open sides), and she felt that it helped him stay calm amid all the hubbub.

It was pretty cold, and the food trucks were busy.

Hedge apples for sale.

A typical scene outside.

String, anyone?

Miles and miles of stuff. What fun!

The scene in the parking lot when I left.

Back at home, I made a mental note to bring the geraniums in–it’s getting frosty.

And with my last ounce of strength, I made a loaf of bread from “The Secrets of Jesuit Breadmaking,” by Brother Rick Curry. It was called “Christmas Morning Bread,” and was a quick bread made with bananas, orange juice, figs, and walnuts. It was amazingly delicious, moist, and fine-textured. Jim ate half of it. I will make it again, adding orange rind and using butter, and will post the recipe.

One thing I have learned in the past year is to be grateful for every day and for every season. But somehow this fall seems especially beautiful. Hope your week is a good one. Namaste. Fran

2 thoughts on “Fall Weekend

  1. I always look forward to reading your blog whenever I sign into my e-mail account as your perspective is interesting, the photos are beautiful, and the recipes are oh so tasty. Thank
    you, for sharing. -Joy

Leave a comment