Quiet Days

Jim and I are both under the weather with the flu, a nasty variety that has kept us lying low for days now. This is by way of explanation as to why I was watching a Star Trek movie this afternoon. The usual was going on: Scottie had just told the captain that they were “45 minutes to structural collapse. Kippten, I don’t know how long I can keep it together.” Does he ever? My head nodded sleepily. Then, “Bridge to Captain Kirk! The magnetic interlock has been ruptured!” Oh, no! There is something comforting about Star Trek: It inhabits a moral universe where good always triumphs. So it’s soothing to watch while you are sick, and then there was the fact that I was too weak to change the channel. I was also continuing to madly, but feebly, knit. So these are quiet days. I have been watercoloring, knitting, and bird watching.

IMG_2392On a continuing basis, I have been trying to learn how to draw–it’s the most fun in the world! I have found it doesn’t call for talent, so much as for the patience for scrupulous observation.

IMG_2393A closeup.

IMG_2394

IMG_2402On Thursday there was a big storm, and the lights kept flickering, and then finally went out. I lit my oil lamp, and began addressing Christmas cards. The light of an oil lamp is warm and mellow.

IMG_2410A little nuthatch landed at the feeder and lingered for an uncharacteristically long time–I was able to get some photos.

IMG_2411IMG_2413Hope the coming days are healthy and happy. Namaste. Fran

IMG_2412

6 thoughts on “Quiet Days

  1. Star Trek & The Waltons are great lesson-givers 🙂 Your watercolours are beautiful and I you have captured the little bird perfectly.
    I hope you feel better soon – have a peaceful Christmas!

  2. Fran, don’t you love the cute little nuthatches? We’re seeing many more this year than in the past. I hope you and Jim feel better soon. Have a wonderful and peaceful Christmas!

  3. They’re adorable! And we have some red-breasted nuthatches, as well. Jim and I are starting to feel a bit better today. Next year, I definitely will get a flu shot. Hope your Christmas is a happy one. Take care, Sherri. Fran

Leave a Reply

