Bachelor Button Cookies and Blue Crocheted Tablemat

3100xYesterday, the sky was the color of oatmeal porridge, and the weather report was that a blizzard was on the way. It was all too much. So I grabbed my paints and began painting a plate of Moroccan oranges. The sight of the brush loaded with vivid orange watercolor paint made me feel better immediately.

I had a little pot of tea at hand, sitting on a blue tablemat/hotpad thing that I had just finished crocheting. Small disks are crocheted using Lily Sugar’n Cream cotton yarn, and then sewn together. The thing about this little mat is that it is the ultimate take-with-you-anywhere project, and you can make it as big or small as you want. Here’s a closer look at the mat, and then the pattern follows.

3068xBlue Denim Tablemat

A 3-oz. ball of Lily Sugar’n Cream cotton yarn, in Denim color
A size 4 or E crochet hook
scissors

To make a disk, chain 4 stitches, and join to form a ring. Chain 3, and then make 19 treble crochets in the ring. Push the treble crochets along, to make room for all the stitches–it may seem a tight fit, but there is enough room (barely!).  Join with a slip stitch to the top of the initial Chain 3 (see note below). Weave in the ends. Join the disks by placing two disks face to face, and sewing through the top part of three treble crochets.

Notes: I found that if you made the last, joining slip stitch into the top of the first treble crochet, it snugged the circle together more nicely than if you make the slip stitch into the top of the first chain 3. My tablemat is a square with five disks across. It measures 8-1/2 x 8-1/2″”. But you could make it 5 disks by 10 disks for a table runner. When I sewed the disks together, I cut an 18″ piece of the yarn, and split it into two–it made the seam a bit less bulky. When finished, place the mat face down on your ironing board and lightly steam it.

3084xThe blizzard, meanwhile, came today!

As I crocheted this mat, bachelor buttons (my favorite flower) came to mind, and I seemed to recall that somewhere I had a recipe for Bachelor Button cookies. The term “bachelor buttons” used to refer to a long ago practice of bachelors when they lost a button. Apparently, they cut a circle of fabric and sewed it on in place of an actual button.  The blue, raggedy-edged flowers were named after the ragged cloth buttons. So the cookies really are more like big buttons, not flowers, but I still love the name. Here’s the recipe:

3115xxBachelor Buttons

3/4 cup brown sugar
1-1/2 cups sifted cake flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup butter, softened
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 eggs, beaten
currants or chocolate mini-chips

Preheat oven to 375 degrees, and line baking sheet with parchment paper.

Combine the sugar, flour, and salt. Cut in butter with two knives, or use your fingertips, until the mixture is sandy textured. Stir in the beaten eggs and vanilla extract until well blended. Let sit for 10 to 15 minutes as you clean up.

Use a measuring teaspoon to scoop up dough and place on cookie sheet, about two inches apart. Place four currants or chocolate mini-chips on top. Bake for about eight minutes or until the bottoms lightly browned.

Notes: The smaller these cookies are, the cuter! If you don’t have cake flour, take a two-cup measuring cup and put three tablespoons of cornstarch in the bottom. Then fill with regular flour to the 1-1/2 cup mark. I made this recipe once with currants and once with the mini-chips. Personally, I like the chips, but these cookies do mellow and get chewier the day after baking, and then the currants come into their own. So either way is tasty.

These are unassuming little cookies that are chewy and brown sugary and buttery. It’s very hard to eat just one. Somehow they make me think of nursery rhymes and children’s games like Button, Button, Who’s Got the Button.

3106x

At any rate, hope you enjoy! Namaste. Fran

IMG_3102

4 thoughts on “Bachelor Button Cookies and Blue Crocheted Tablemat

  1. Orange and blue are such happy colours together. Batchelor buttons always make me smile because my old cat’s favourite sleeping place used to be right in the middle of a patch of cornflowers! He used to make a right old mess but looked so comfortable I could never tell him off!
    You have such a lovely way of writing Fran – it’s like slipping on a warm coat on a cold morning 🙂

  2. Thank you, so much! Cats do have a way of making themselves comfortable in the oddest places. One of my cats enjoys sitting in a catmint plant I have in the garden–does not look comfortable. Oh, well. By the way, may I call you Sharon? Or do you prefer PJ? I really appreciate your kind comments! Best, Fran

  3. The orange and blue color theme reminds me of the apricot and blue theme that your sister promoted to you in a past blog. It just sounded much classier that my “kindergarten” yellow and blue and I will employ this color combo in the spring/summer weeks ahead. (Not months! Weeks, now! We’re counting in weeks!)

  4. P.S. I love that yellow house behind the gray and white winter colors! Yellow is my color. My entire (almost) house is painted in a pale yellow on the inside. I love the warmth, even in summer!

Leave a Reply

