Heart Scones

3749xI found this recipe hidden away in a copy of BettyCrocker’s “Baking with Love” paperback, from 1993. The idea of a scone that came with its own little dot of jam was so appealing, and I headed into the kitchen. The result was rustic and really adorable–they instantly became my favorite scone.

IMG_3754Here’s the recipe:

Heart Scones

IMG_3742
Before going into the oven.

1 egg
1/3 cup milk
1/4 cup applesauce
2 tablespoons butter, melted
1 teaspoon almond extract
2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup sliced almonds
1/3 cup sugar
3 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
raspberry preserves

Heat oven to 400 degrees. Grease cookie sheet, or use parchment paper. Beat egg slightly in medium bowl. Stir in milk, applesauce, butter and almond extract. Stir in remaining ingredients (except preserves and powdered sugar), just until moistened.

Drop dough by 1/4 cupfuls about 3 inches apart onto cookie sheet. Pat into heart shapes about 3 inches wide and 1/2 inch high, using fingers dusted with flour. Make a shallow well in center of each heart, using back of spoon dipped in flour. Place 1/2 teaspoon of preserves in each well. Bake 12 to 15 minutes or until golden brown. Sprinkle with powdered sugar while warm.

My only quibble with the recipe is in regard to the applesauce, which I suspect was added to reduce fat. I will make these again without the applesauce, and adding back in some butter, to see what happens. Or, I could substitute with some yogurt. To form the hearts I loosely measured the dough with a 1/4 cup measure. Then I briefly rolled each portion into a ball. Then I placed it on the cookie sheet and patted it into a triangle, and pressed in the top to make the heart shape. I used whole wheat pastry flour to keep my hands from sticking, but the dough is easy to handle.

3739xMeanwhile, a blue jay appeared at the feeder. I have the feeling that we didn’t have what he wanted, so I’ll have to do some research into what tickles the tastebuds of bluejays.

3747xAlso saw this slightly crazed-looking grackle skulking in the grass. Apparently they like nibbling on bits of seeds in the underbrush.

3769xAnyone know what plant this flower belongs to? It’s a pachysandra flower! Looks like a rare orchid.

IMG_3770Also had a closeup look at these lovely little scillas.

3766xThe bleeding heart is just coming into bud.

3767xAnd the trout lilies are flowering. Seeing it closeup reminds me of the first time I saw the planet Saturn through a telescope–utter, serene perfection.

Namaste. Fran

2 thoughts on “Heart Scones

  1. Beautiful pics! I think I have a trout lily coming up and I have no clue where it came from. Well – maybe. When we moved in 23 years ago, before I got into gardening, every spring I saw leaves like that popping up. I pulled them because I thought they were weeds. A few years later, I began studying natives and realized they were dog’s tooth violet – in the same genus as trout lily: Erythronium. I kick myself every darn year for pulling those oh so many eons ago! Now, one has popped up in my shade garden! Maybe after 20+ years, it finally forgave me! I’ll send you a pic. Thanks for another great post, Fran!

  2. Hi Sherri! Glad they made it. I got my trout lilies from my mom-in-law, and come to think of it, she called them dog’s tooth violets. I think they are one and the same thing. They are among my favorite flowers. Thanks for stopping by. Fran

Leave a Reply

