Jim Jam Bars

IMG_4028As usual, I was riffling through a cookbook, this time the “Pine to Prairie Cookbook, V. II,” from the Telephone Pioneers of America, C.P. Wainman Chapter #18, a rather mysterious sounding group. I have all five volumes in the set, and they provide an endless array of easy, tasty recipes. When I came across Jim Jam Bars, I have to admit I was attracted to the raffish name, and couldn’t resist trying them. As it turns out, they are a particularly delicious jam crumble bar, and I highly recommend them. The recipe follows:

Jim Jam Bars

Cream:
1 cup butter
1 cup sugar

Add:
1 beaten egg
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 cups flour
1 cup chopped walnuts
1 cup raspberry jam, stirred until smooth
the grated rind of one lemon

Divide the mixture in half. Line a 9×9″ pan with parchment paper, and press down half the mixture into the pan. Spread the jam over. Drop the other half of the crumble over the jam, covering all the jam. Bake in a 325 degree oven for one hour.

Baking notes: The original recipe called for two egg yolks instead of one egg, but I always hate having an egg white left over, and these bars are quite rich enough as they are. The recipe also called for only a half cup of jam, but this seemed stingy, so I added a whole cup. This will be fine if you are using parchment paper, but if you aren’t using the paper, and are greasing the pan, use less jam, and try not to spread it right to the edges, where it might burn. I added the lemon rind because it adds a nice spark of flavor, but it wasn’t called for in the original recipe.
IMG_4019I am including a picture of a Jim Jam Bar, partly to show off the china it’s on. It’s hand painted in England and is called Calyx Ware. I purchased the set at Goodwill for 49 cents for each piece. Sometimes we have to tell the world about a great bargain!

Meanwhile, the irises are starting to bloom. Here is a yellow variety that I got in a plant exchange. Also, I just looked out the window, and nearly fell off my chair–the Florentine iris I had planted several years ago has just bloomed, and it’s lovely. I will include a pix in the next post. Orris root comes from Florentine irises, and is used in potpourris.
IMG_3972

I have found a cardinal nest in the akebia vine, but am staying well away. The father looks fierce! Sorry the second pix is slightly blurred, but the cardinal only landed for only a second or two, but I knew I had to take his picture.

IMG_39903992xIMG_3980And here is a finch duo, both gold and purple, looking good together.

Columbines are blooming, and here is the lovely Aquilegia canadensis, the only columbine native to this area.

Lastly, the lilacs are blooming, the wine is delicious, and life is good. I wish the same for you.

Namaste. Fran

IMG_4001IMG_4003IMG_4004IMG_40053985xx

One thought on “Jim Jam Bars

Leave a Reply

