Sugar Dreams

4582xxxIn my last post I mentioned making Raspberry Ribbon cookies for our church’s Swedish Day booth.

scan2Researching this cookie led me to a Swedish classic cookbook in my collection called Swedish Cakes and Cookies. I am ashamed to say that I sometimes buy a book, and then get distracted and don’t use  it right away. This time, I decided to select an interesting  recipe from the book and give it a try, and I chose a cookie named “Dreams,” which used to be called “Sugar Dreams.” Loved the older name, so that’s what I’m using!

I proceeded a bit hesitantly, because sometimes things get lost in translation in recipes from abroad, and the ingredients can be  a bit different; in particular, flour can be harder or soften than ours, eggs larger or smaller, and butter can have different butterfat content. So there are perils.

As it turned out, the recipe was easy to make, and the cookies are among the best I’ve ever tried. They have a wonderful buttery crispiness, and they melt in your mouth. Really! I can hardly wait to move on to the next recipe, called “Coconut Dreams.” So here is the recipe  for “Sugar Dreams.”

4581xSugar Dreams

Preheat oven to 300 degrees.

7 tablespoons butter, softened
1-1/4 cups sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/3 cup vegetable oil (I used canola)
2 teaspoons baking powder
1-2/3 cups all-purpose flour
25 almonds, halved, or sliced almonds

Beat the butter, sugar and vanilla until light and fluffy. Gradually add the oil. Combine the baking powder with the flour, and beat into the butter mixture. Knead the dough briefly to make sure it’s homogeneous.

Divide the dough in half. Roll each piece into a rope. Cut each rope into 25 pieces and roll into balls. Place on a greased or parchment-lined baking sheet. Press an almond half or sliver in each ball.

Bake for around 20 minutes. They will very lightly brown, and the bottom will be golden.

Note: If you can find it, you can use one teaspoon baking ammonia (hornsalt) instead of the baking powder. This would have been the more traditional leavening. Also, I think these would be delicious with pistachios or hazelnuts. Or dipped in dark chocolate. Or?

IMG_4592Meanwhile, the garden is growing–we have had plenty of rain this spring, and as I have been working on this, a storm blew up and I heard tornado sirens blaring from the next town. Nothing came of it, though. Roses are starting to bloom, and the clematis are starting to make a show. In the above picture is a cluster of Seven Sisters roses, after a rainstorm.

IMG_4588Perennial foxgloves, just starting to bloom. They remind me of little giraffes!

4442xAnd the clematis are starting to bloom. I love peering at them with my camera.

IMG_4383They don’t seem to mind!

4440x

4446x

4597xLastly, the goldfinches continue to grace our garden, singing their melodious songs, and, or course, eating! Namaste. Fran

Leave a Reply

