A Jiffy Mix and a Nectarine

IMG_5147Lately, I’ve been getting into Jiffy Mixes (not literally, of course–not enough room!), the little cake mixes selling for 99 cents in the baking aisle. Jiffy Mixes have been around since 1930, and they always looked like they should be used in a toy kitchen with an Easy Bake oven. On a whim, I picked up a Jiffy Golden Yellow Cake Mix and went to the Jiffy Mix website to see what I could make with it. (There are a number of recipes on the box, but I was curious as to what else they could come up with.) To my surprise, I found the nicest website–well organized and easy to use, and full of recipes. I found a recipe for Lemon Cream Cheese Squares that sounded good, and I made it today after work. (It’s how I relax, strangely enough.)

I tweaked the recipe a bit, baking it in a decorative, enamel-coated cast iron pan, and since I had a nectarine, decided to use that as well. It went together in a trice, and before I knew it I had beautiful Lemon Nectarine Bars (I cut these like a pie, though, to serve.) I am so impressed, and can sense that I will be going on a Jiffy Mix binge. I mean, for 99 cents, an egg, a little bit of cream cheese, and a nectarine, I had a lovely dessert. And it was delish–very tender, with the creamy filling, and the tartness of the nectarine. I estimate that this recipe cost me about $2.00, and it would serve 4 to 6 people. Here’s how to make it:

IMG_5148

Lemon Nectarine Bars

IMG_5150Crust

1 package JIFFY Golden yellow Cake Mix
3 tablespoons butter, softened
1 teaspoon lemon extract

Filling

4 ounces cream cheese, softened
1 egg
1/4 cup sugar
(I also added a teaspoon of vanilla)

one ripe nectarine, halved, pitted and sliced thinly

Preheat oven to 350 degrees if you are using a metal pan, 325 degrees for Pyrex or enameled cast iron.

Combine crust ingredients together until crumbly. Reserve about 1/3 cup. Press remaining mixture into a greased 8″ pan or 8″ 0r 9″ pie plate.

Combine filling ingredients and blend until creamy. Spread over crust. Arrange the nectarine slices over the filling. Sprinkle reserved crust mixture over filling. Bake for 25 minutes, or until edges look golden. Allow to cool before cutting, and store in the refrigerator.

Note: If you go to the Jiffy Mix website, be sure to request a free copy of the Jiffy Mix cookbook. I’m waiting for mine with bated breath.

IMG_5091Meanwhile, the morning glories are blooming. They seem to have their own, mysterious light source.

IMG_5131IMG_4991And the purple coneflowers are up and running.

IMG_5097The clematis seedheads are as interesting in their own way as the flowers themselves.

IMG_5098IMG_5100IMG_5101IMG_5103And Mr. and Mrs. Adorable Finch have returned to dine.

IMG_5129Don’t mean to forget the robin!

IMG_5139And the moon continues to exert its hypnotic effect on me. Have a nice week. Namaste. Fran

IMG_5104

Leave a Reply

