Sand Dollar Cookies

IMG_5498Yesterday, I mentioned that I would post a recipe for Sand Dollar Cookies, and here it is. I just thought it would be fun to have a cookie as part of a sea shell theme. I am not the only one to think of Sand Dollar Cookies–when I surveyed the Internet I actually found a number of recipes. But I like the recipe I came up with, which is from the Fannie Farmer Cookbook, and was in the original 1896 edition.  The cookies were called Sand Tarts. There are reasons why a recipe hangs around for 117 years, and in this case, the dough is amazingly easy to mix and roll out, and results in a crisp, buttery cookie. I cut five slits into the cookie and sprinkled it with sugar, and voila, Sand Dollar Cookies. This recipe is a keeper!

IMG_5496Sand Dollar Cookies

8 tablespoons butter, softened
1 cup sugar
1 egg
1-3/4 cups flour
1/4 teaspoon salt

Preheat oven to 325 degrees, and line a cookie sheet with parchment paper.

Combine the butter and sugar, and beat until smooth and blended. Add the egg, and continue beating until light. Stir and toss together the flour and salt, and add them to the first mixture, beating until well mixed. Dust a smooth, flat surface lightly with flour, turn the dough out onto it, and roll 1/8 inch thick. Cut the dough into rounds with a 2-1/2 inch cutter. Gather up the scraps, reroll them, and cut out more cookies. Place them about 1 inch apart on the prepared cookie sheet, and sprinkle with sugar.  Bake for about eight minutes.

Baking notes: I didn’t have a 2-1/2 inch cutter, so I used an empty 4-oz. mushroom tin–it was just right. But I’ve noticed that sand dollars seem to come in all sizes, so use what you have. If you have never had success with roll out cookie doughs, try this one. Even without chilling, the dough is easy to roll out and cut. Just be sure to roll it to 1/8″. Also, bake no more than eight minutes! I baked some longer than eight minutes to get a brown edge, and they turned out crisp bordering on hard. So, roll thin, bake eight minutes, and you will have thin, crisp cookies. I will definitely be thinking of this recipe at Christmas-time.

I realize that birds have nothing to do with Sand Dollar Cookies, but I can’t resist including a couple of photos of a new bird that has visited our feeder. Not totally sure what it is! A grackle? A cow bird? I love his magnificent cape of feathers.

IMG_5465

IMG_5466Here’s a shot of another noble bird. Their beaks look similar, but their coloration is not the same.

IMG_5491Lastly, the other night was a blue moon, and I took this photo. Ghostly!

Take care. Namaste. Fran

Leave a Reply

