Cantigny Park, 2

DSCF6188I mentioned Sunday that I had way too many photos from my trip to Cantigny for one post, so here are a few  more. In my defense, I have to say that the garden staff at Cantigny does such a wonderful, imaginative, and creative job in their plantings, that it’s hard to walk on by, unseeing. So here are a few more photos.

The rose garden at Cantigny is interesting, because in some ways it’s a bit old-fashioned. The roses are planted in rectangular beds without the softening effect of being interplanted with other perennials. So it’s old-fashioned–a bit “retro” in conception–but I am coming to re-appreciate it. It’s for the serious rose lover! The roses are beautifully cared for, and the rose-scented air almost euphoria inducing. The rose shown above is Rosa ‘Mother of Pearl’ and it’s simply stunning.

DSCF6204After drifting out of the rose garden, I found myself amid some shade plantings, and ran across a lovely scene of fall anemones.

Fall anemones are tough, as well as beautiful, and work well in home gardens. DSCF6202

DSCF6190There are a number of different varieties.

DSCF6199There’s a lot a gardener can learn from this shady bower. The graceful latticework creates pattern and structure, the vivid petunias a pop of color, and the lush hostas contribute coolness and greenness. Also, they use really large pots at Cantigny, knowing that they dry out much more slowly than small pots do.

DSCF6176In another shady corner, I ran across this spectacular begonia. i didn’t want to rummage around in the plant, so I can’t tell you if this is one humongous begonia, or a bunch of smaller ones, but it was beautiful.

DSCF6212Here’s a fuchsia that I have never seen before, used as a groundcover, though apparently it can also be used in containers as a “trailer.”

DSCF6146Here is a group of pots–again, enormous–that also have a lesson. In some ways they seem standard issue–petunias and more petunias- until you notice that some small, bright orange calibrachoa plants have been tucked in. That little touch of orange is like adding pepper to a stew–really livens it up, but not in an obvious way.

We can do this–a pot with a fancy begonia and a gorgeous coleus can really look stunning.DSCF6236

DSCF6168I just like this grouping, with its sweet potato vine, coleus, and (I think) a type of iresine called the beefsteak plant. At least, that’s my guess.

DSCF6214Here’s a green version of the beefsteak plant.

DSCF6169It looks even better with the accidental inclusion of some dill.

DSCF6135Just some petunias, but they are awfully pretty.

DSCF6138Here’s another spectacular flower bed.

It’s like being at a flower party! I think the grass is Pennisetum setaceum, and could be “Purpureum’ or something similar. The purple/pink balls are gomphrena, and the light rose/pink flowers are pentas. There are also some deep red snapdragons.
DSCF6140

One last rose . . .
DSCF6185

aDSCF6189nd a branch laden with berries signals that fall is coming to Cantigny.

3 thoughts on “Cantigny Park, 2

  1. Absolutely beautiful! Regarding the pic with the Pennisetum, gomprena, etc . . . I never would have thought I would like red and pink together, but this works! I think it must be the green foliage that makes that happen. And, that dill – I found out a few years ago that self seeded dill in my garden looked good, and I let it seed away!

    I’ll tell you one that’s like dill but even prettier: it’s a shade plant called yellow pimpernel. It’s native and the Latin name is something like “Tenida . . .” Google it. You’ll find it. It’s not a self seeder in my yard, but it’s a tough plant. It was lost in the great vegetative explosion this spring and I thought I’d never find it. (Forgot where I put it.) One day in June, I think, I saw this pretty dill-like head poking out from under a massive elderberry bush – it had reached about a foot and a half to get out from under that big lug!

  2. Oh, man . . , LONG time ago at (I think) the native plant sale they have every year up by Grayslake. That’s not much help is it?? But, I’ll bet you could get it at Prairie Moon Nursery in Minnesota – they are awesome. I’ve ordered from them many times over the years. Ahh, I just looked at Prairie Moon – they have it in seed. You can fall sow or give the seed 60 days cold, moist, stratification. I’ll email you – maybe we can split some seeds!!

Leave a Reply

