Fall Days

IMG_5718

My friend Susan gave me a box of Macintosh apples from her tree, and a bouquet of tansy. (Thank you, Susan!) These apples looked like no Macintosh I had ever seen in a plastic bag at a grocery store–these were big and looked crisp and bloomed with color.  So even before I ate one, I took some pictures. The apples have that indescribable fresh taste of apples right off the tree, tasting like fresh air and all sorts of apple-y nuances.

IMG_5711
IMG_5709
IMG_5710

IMG_5705And the spindles of the swamp milkweed have burst open, allowing the seeds to be picked up by the wind and blown away.

IMG_5707

IMG_5696The sweet autumn clematis is in full bloom.

IMG_5697

IMG_5704And the calendula, which languishes in summer heat, has sprung back to life.

Then, of course, there’s always an adorable finch.

IMG_5664

IMG_5666

IMG_5669

For all those living in and around St. Charles, Illinois, I want to mention that I have my bird watercolors and other crafts on display at the St. Charles Public Library. The display case is in the lobby, so if you have a moment, please stop on by! Namaste. Fran

IMG_5756

2 thoughts on “Fall Days

  1. Always enjoy your blog, we stopped at the library just to see your exhibit- it is amazing, you are so creative (I loved the fabric butterflies) but you should have a copy of your book in the case.

    1. Glad you could stop by–the fabric butterflies are my favorite, too. I just borrowed a book that is all origami butterflies, and will be interested if I can use cloth with them, too. It’s funny, I was so focused on crafts, that I didn’t even think of my book! I’ll have to see if there is a spot for it. Again, thanks for visiting. Fran

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

