Mirrored Scissors Cuttings

image0000-5 copy 4In a children’s craft book, I came across a project called “Mirrored Scissors Cuttings.” A piece of paper is folded into quarters, so that there are four thickness of paper, and a figure is cut out–in this case, a swan–and when unfolded four swans appear. Details are added to the top two swans, so they look realistic, and the bottom swans are left to look like reflections. If you like scissor cutting, I think you’ll enjoy this project.

Any kind of paper can be used, but I used some paper I had practiced calligraphy on to nice effect, and you could use an old letter, a discarded sheet of music, recycled gift wrapping paper, or the page from an old book.

rsz_image0000-1Here is the original pattern, which was taken from a book called “Scissorcraft,” by Lini Grol. At the end of this post, I will add a single swan that also can be used as a pattern.

I also tried cutting the pattern using wallpaper, and I think the swans turned out well. They are busier looking, but still pretty.

What can you use these for? Nothing practical, but they would look nice framed, or could be folded up and used as greeting cards, or used for secret messages. They could also be used to decorate gift packages.

I couldn’t resist trying to make my own bird, so I cut a little wren in wallpaper the color of nutmeg.

image0000-5 copy 7

image0000-5 copy 5Here are the patterns for the swan and wren. You can highlight a pattern, and when you print, click on “Selection.”  You can also place a piece of tissue paper right on the computer screen over the pattern, and trace. I took the tissue paper pattern, and traced it onto cardboard, and cut that out. After cutting the bird, I used a punch to punch circles for the eyes, and used a craft knife to cut the crescent for the wing.

image0000-5 copy 6
Whenever I do any paper cutting, I think of Hans Christian Andersen, who created wonderful, imaginative paper cuts. You may be interested in two posts of mine, called “The World of Papercutting,” (Feb. 8, 2012), and “Straw into Gold,” (Dec. 12, 2012).

Leave a Reply

