Cranberry Nut Pandowdy

IMG_6331I made this recipe for Cranberry Nut Pandowdy out of curiosity, more than anything else. It came from a pamphlet from Land O’Lakes Butter, and their recipes often are exceptionally good. So I buttered the pan, strewed it with fresh cranberries, chopped walnuts and brown sugar, and then stirred up a simple batter, and poured it on. Forty minutes later I pulled it out of the oven–it was golden brown, speckled with cranberries, and flat as a pancake. That’s when I started to wonder what a pandowdy was. According to all sources it’s pie crust baked over fruit. This was more like a cake or bar cookie, just very flat! So I felt a bit disappointed. Then I tried a nibble. Yikes! It was so good! Buttery, brown sugary, crunchy with the walnuts and tart with the cranberries–all in one forkful. Land O’Lakes had done it again. At this point I didn’t care what it looked like. I brought it to work and it disappeared ASAP. That’s when I realized that the operative word in pandowdy is “dowdy.” Whether made with a pie crust  or a cake batter, it’s, well, dowdy. But for eating enjoyment it’s fab. Also, it will reach celestial heights with a scoop of really good vanilla ice cream.

The bottom line is that it might not be the dessert to make if you want to impress Aunt Tilly and Uncle Horace. But if you want something delish for an informal meal–here is your dessert.

image0000-5

And I include this photo of some cranberry vinegar I’m making. I combined one cup of halved cranberries with 2 cups of white vinegar. It has to sit for one to two weeks, and then will be strained through a coffee filter or cheese cloth. It’s then ready to be used in salad dressing recipes. Love the red color!

IMG_6338

IMG_6333

Take care. Fran

2 thoughts on “Cranberry Nut Pandowdy

Leave a Reply

