Alstroemeria Extravaganza

IMG_7338The temperature has plunged again, and snow is on its way. I suppose this is when the tough “lean in,” but I’m a wimp and prefer to lean out and mentally travel to some sunny climate where the flowers are blooming. As it happens, the flowers nearest to me are in a bouquet on the dining room table. So the other day I took my camera and zeroed in on the alstroemerias, sometimes called lily of the Incas, which looked translucent in the morning light. Hope you enjoy. Namaste. Fran
IMG_7335

My crooked oil lamp!
My crooked oil lamp!

IMG_7341 IMG_7343
IMG_7347
IMG_7355

IMG_7361
Just to change things up a bit, here’s a male house finch who stopped by the other day.

IMG_7362 IMG_7363
IMG_7369 IMG_7372
IMG_7376 IMG_7377
IMG_7386

4 thoughts on “Alstroemeria Extravaganza

  1. Gosh, it’s nice to see flowers at this time of year (in Illinois). Some of the photographs look like paintings. And that chrysanthemum! Is that how chrysanthemum is spelled? Gorgeous! You must have wonderful light in that room. Thank you for sharing the beauty, as always.
    Ginene

    1. You are welcome, Ginene. Glad you enjoyed. I’m looking forward to the day when I can walk out my kitchen door into a garden full of greenness and flowers. But it looks like we are having more snow. Darn! Thanks again. Fran

  2. I bought a bouquet at Aldi’s–a local supermarket which is my fave. The flowers in the bouquet are pretty prosaic, but I have found that when I look at them through the camera lens, they reveal a whole different energy. Very fun. Take care. Fran

Leave a Reply

