Easy Red Currant Cake

IMG_0045
The flower is called bouncing bet (Saponaria).

IMG_0034Several years ago I planted a red currant bush. Last year I was able to make some muffins with the handful of currants that appeared, but this year there is a bumper crop: I wanted to make something with them, but it had to be easy. Jiffy Mixes to the rescue! The above cake was made with one Jiffy Golden Yellow cake mix and one Jiffy White frosting mix. For purists, this will not do, but for the rest of us, it means that you can take some delicious summer fruit–whether blackberries, sliced peaches, nectarines, or whatever, and using the cake mix, come up with a nice cake. It’s an ephemeral sort of dessert–and will last as long as a summer cloud.

IMG_0046So to make the above cake, I buttered a pie pan (could be 8 or 9″), mixed up the batter according to box directions, and stirred in 1/2 cup of freshly picked red currants. It baked to a golden brown in 25 minutes. I let it cool, and then mixed up the Jiffy frosting and swirled it over the cake. Then I sprinkled the cake with a handful of the currants, some chopped slivered almonds, and a soupçon of little mint leaves. Voila! The cake is light and fluffy, and the currants are tart. They contain some tiny seeds, but just as blackberry seeds don’t seem annoying (at least to me), the little currant seeds seem ok, too. At any rate, including the egg used in the cake, this little confection cost $2.25!

The clematis season is almost over, so I thought I would share some pictures of these wonderful, elegant flowers.

IMG_9237

IMG_9242

IMG_9246 IMG_9248 IMG_9249

IMG_9251 IMG_9255

IMG_9359

Namaste. Fran

 

4 thoughts on “Easy Red Currant Cake

  1. Hi Fran,

    Your flower photos are breathtaking.

    Which camera do you use?

    Thanks, Kimberly

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Thank you, Kimberly. My camera is a Canon SX40. I’ve learned that the time of day for photographing flowers matters a lot–it needs to be in the morning or late afternoon, when the light is soft. Thanks again. Fran

  3. My fantasy: sitting there eating that delicious-looking cake (probably not on my idiotic medically restricted diet) while admiring that garden.

Leave a Reply

