Pound Cake in a Can, and a Little Chickadee

IMG_0843

In other posts I have mentioned that I have a predilection for saving tin cans (I know, it’s pathetic.) and have turned them into pantry organizers and flower vases. Could they be used as interesting little baking tins? I could remember seeing date nut bread baked in a can, but I wanted to try a cake. I had saved a 28-ounce can that had held crushed tomatoes. Then I found a recipe for a small cake based on one egg, and tweaked it a bit, adding some chopped dried apricots and my favorite herb, rosemary. I really didn’t know–would the cake burn or overflow disastrously? The result really surprised me–the cake baked up perfectly, and is absolutely delicious. It has the moist, fine texture of a pound cake, and is studded with tart bites of apricot. The flavor of the rosemary is elusive, but delicious. I was able to whip up the cake with a spoon and pop it in the oven in about twenty minutes, and there was a definite fun factor–so it’s small, easy, delicious and fun. Doesn’t get any better!

By the way, I made the above vase with my Kinkajou Bottle Cutter, and stenciled it with a spray of flowers. I have yet to make a perfectly cut vase, but I’m getting closer!

Pound Cake in a Can

IMG_08291/4 cup butter, softened
1/2 cup sugar
1 egg, beaten
1/2 teaspoon finely grated lemon peel
a splash of vanilla
3/4 cup flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
a pinch of salt
1/4 cup half and half
6 dried apricots, chopped
a sprig of fresh rosemary, finely chopped

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees, and prepare your 28-ounce can. Wash and dry it meticulously, and using the bottom of the can as a pattern, cut a circle of waxed paper. Generously grease the can with shortening, and then press the waxed paper circle to the bottom of the can. Then there will be no doubt you will get the cake out of the pan!

In a medium-sized bowl, cream the softened butter with a big spoon. Add the sugar, and keep mixing. Add the egg, and beat thoroughly until light. Then add the chopped apricots and rosemary, and mix thoroughly until moistened.  Mix the flour with the baking powder and salt, and add it to the butter mixture alternating with the half and half. Begin and end with the flour mixture. Place the cake on a baking sheet and place in the preheated oven. Bake for 50 minute or until the top tests completely done. Wait for about 15 minutes, and then run a knife around the cake and upend into your hand (covered with a dish towel), and then onto a plate.

Baking notes:  I could see adding a handful of golden raisins that had been soaked in rum, along with the above additives. Or it could be made with chopped maraschino cherries and walnuts, or semi-sweet mini chips or candied lemon peel or . . . ? The one negative with this recipe is that it asks for the half and half, and I know that not everyone has that on hand. But I think it would be fine made with milk, buttermilk, almond milk, or soy milk, as long as they are full fat. I think using a nonfat milk would result in a dry cake.

Meanwhile, as I bake, there are always birds right outside the window, tempting me to grab the camera. Here is a little chickadee, looking adorable with crumbs of suet on his beak.

IMG_0817 IMG_0818 IMG_0819And I know sparrows are common, but like all birds, look so interesting when seen close up!

IMG_0809 IMG_0811

and here’s a downy woodpecker, in mid peck . . .

IMG_0761

and lastly, a perennial sweet pea, clambering up the rose tower in my side garden. Namaste. Fran

IMG_0744

 

 

8 thoughts on “Pound Cake in a Can, and a Little Chickadee

  1. Oh, little chickadee and sparrow are soooo dear. You are right, Fran – EVERY bird is fascinating close up. I like your pound cake in a tin can recipe, too. Aligns perfectly with my desire to be in the kitchen as little as possible as well as my “make do with what you have” policy. I always get the classic cakes confused, though – there’s angel’s food, devil’s food, and pound. I just wonder what the difference is aside from theological (although I don’t know how pound fits in there)? I know angel is lighter, but my fuzzy taste memory sort of lump devil and pound together. Ah, well. They’re not orchids, so I’ll eat them rather than google them!!

    1. I had never thought of cakes from a theological standpoint! Pound cakes were traditionally made with equal parts butter, eggs, flour, and sugar. They are buttery and fine-grained. The old versions were based on 12 eggs. A devil’s food cake is a traditional chocolate layer cake. It’s usually made with cocoa, and it has more baking soda in it than other chocolate cakes, making it darker and richer looking. Fran

  2. PS: Such fun at the art institute! Who knew adding “with everything” to your burger would add an extra 20 or so bucks? Not in the joints I frequent. But, the art was amazing. So, now we have to get back to Hausermann’s so I can run a pot of scary aerial roots down the aisle after you!

  3. Awesomely delicious looking food and a good tip should I ever dine at the art institute – forget about ‘everything’ with the burger.

Leave a Reply

