Baby House Finch

IMG_1236I was in the front garden this morning planting some mums and a ferns in flower pots when I became aware of the insistent chirpings of a young bird. I quickly saw  it up in the limbs of a nearby tree. I went for my camera, and got these photos. I couldn’t see any nest or other nestlings. I think he (or she) is a baby house finch, because his mother looks like a finch and has a red streak on her crown.

IMG_1227

IMG_1229
Baby birds look wise but cautious.

IMG_1232

IMG_1237
His mother is coming.
IMG_1238
She’s in the lower right of the picture.

IMG_1234 IMG_1240

IMG_1242

IMG_1246
A few minutes later, his mother came again, and he flapped his wings in excitement.
IMG_1248
I hope he will be making his first flight soon.

IMG_1247

 

3 thoughts on “Baby House Finch

  1. Hi Fran! Love the birdies! What sweet baby pictures!

    I hope this calendula will be of use to you. We were talking about potpourri when I brought it up, but this is not pretty flowers. It’s more like a wad of loose dried petals and centers. I hope it will work for your purposes. (I’m making calendula oil with it.) Do you have use for this type?

    Linda

  2. I just now found your reply. Cookies! Now there’s a use I hadn’t thought of! It sounds like it would be okay; it’s organic, and it says it’s certified Kosher. Sounds edible, right?

Leave a Reply

