Buttery Coconut Bars and a Garden of Roses

IMG_1341The funny thing about this recipe for Buttery Coconut Bars is that I don’t usually like coconut, at least not as used in many cookies where it lurks in an undistinguished supporting role, and in my least favorite cookie, the coconut washboard. But I was riffling through an old cookbook, called the Country Fair Cookbook: Every Recipe a Blue Ribbon Winner by the editors of Farm Journal. The recipe beckoned, and I  took the plunge. The result was a buttery, moist bar loaded with coconut, and it won me over.

It’s only flaw, in my eyes, is that the bar itself looked shaggy and undistinguished. So I took each bar and rolled it in a bit of sifted powdered sugar, so now they look like chubby little pillows of deliciousness!

Coconut Bar Cookies

1/3 cup butter, softened
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 cup sifted flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup flaked coconut
about 1/3 cup powdered sugar

Cream butter and sugar together until light and fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Add vanilla.

Sift together flour, baking powder and salt. Gradually add to the creamed mixture, mixing well. Stir in coconut. Spread in a greased and floured 8″ square baking pan.

Bake in 350 degree oven for 30 minutes or until golden brown. Cool in pan, and then cut into 16 squares. Roll each in a bowl of powdered sugar, and shake off excess.

Baking notes: I used an unsweetened organic flaked coconut, but you certainly could use the sweetened, shredded variety.

IMG_1346

I mentioned a few weeks ago that I had visited Cantigny Gardens, in Wheaton, Illinois. I really enjoyed their old-fashioned rose garden–here are a few photos.

IMG_1004IMG_1007IMG_1008IMG_1009IMG_1011IMG_1012IMG_1014

And in the butterfly garden . . . there were butterflies! This butterfly was on an annual asclepias.

IMG_1033

This butterfly is on a butterfly bush.
IMG_1054

Closer to home, I was sitting out on the patio when I heard a nuthatch, and saw him far up in the horse chestnut tree.

IMG_1215 IMG_1216

Lastly, a sparrow, posing for just a moment in its busy life. Peace to you. Fran

IMG_1211 IMG_1212

 

 

4 thoughts on “Buttery Coconut Bars and a Garden of Roses

  1. Oh no! Coconut bars! How my mouth waters…. and Cantigny Gardens, what a beautiful spot to visit. When we were visiting in July Jim and John and Leah and I (and Finley) went to the Chicago Botanic Gardens. I hope you get to visit there with your camera….

  2. Just yesterday I was going through my cabinets and found some shredded coconut that I need to use up. I was thinking on what I should make with it when I checked my emails and read this post. THANKS!!! These bars look delicious and, YES, I will be making them! 🙂

    Cantigny Gardens looks quite beautiful. I especially like the fountains made from what looks like large planting pots.

Leave a Reply

