Gazpacho Salad and a Goldfinch

IMG_1391

Picture from Gourmet Magazine
Picture from Gourmet Magazine

It’s been hot and humid and I found myself thinking more about making a cool salad rather than turning the oven on for cookies. A riffle through my salad file found a Gazpacho Salad recipe in an old Gourmet clipping. The usual gang of summer veggies such as tomatoes, green peppers, onions, and cukes are diced and then layered in a jar. Then a vinaigrette dressing is poured over all.

The downside of this recipe? Chopping the vegetables, though if you use a nice sharp chef’s knife or cleaver it will go quickly, I promise. The upside? Opening up your refrigerator and seeing it there–ready for dinner, cool and delicious. I’ll be giving the recipe as it comes from Gourmet Magazine, and then mention some changes I made, because if ever there was a recipe that can be altered to your needs, this is it. You could add a layer of crisp celery, or some olive salad, fresh basil, use green onions or . . . ?

In the fridge, ready to go.
In the fridge, ready to go.

Gazpacho Salad

In a glass jar arrange alternate layers of 2 cucumbers, peeled and finely diced, 4 tomatoes, seeded and finely diced, 2 green papers, seeded and finely slivered, and 1 onion, finely chopped. Sprinkle the layers with salt and pepper and intersperse the vegetables with 5 or 6 rolled anchovies and 5 or 6 black olives. Then mix 2 cloves of garlic that have been put through a press with a little salt and a pinch of ground cumin seed. Beat in 1/4 cup vinegar and 1/2 cup olive oil, and stir in 1 tablespoon finely chopped parsley. Pour the dressing over the salad and chill it for 2 to 3 hours.

Salad notes: I used a 24 ounce jar, which is smaller than what they showed. For the salad I used 2 plum tomatoes (less seeds that way) along with half a cuke, half a green pepper, and half an onion. I did not use the anchovies–I didn’t have any, for one thing, and thought the salad would be fine without them. It is!

IMG_1369

I really am not obsessed with goldfinches, but when they are so cute, I can’t resist posting their pictures. So here is a little goldfinch.

IMG_1143 IMG_1145IMG_1152IMG_1150 IMG_1151IMG_1157Lastly, some pictures of a foxglove. These are from my trip to Cantigny Gardens. They are a bit of a luxury in our climate, and I guess that they are raised in their greenhouses. They are biennials, showing just leaves the first year, and then flowering the second year. I can grow perennial foxgloves but they are not as gorgeous!

IMG_0964 IMG_0965

Peace to you. Fran

 

4 thoughts on “Gazpacho Salad and a Goldfinch

  1. Now that not only looks delicious but it is something I am allowed to eat. As for the finch and the flowers, gorgeous! We finally saw some birds chowing down at Jan’s backyard feeder. We see the food disappear but birds – not so much.

  2. I have to say, it’s crunchy and succulent–nice that it’s good for you, too! I just love the little finches. The birds appear at my feeder in waves–sometimes I don’t see a single bird, and then they are there all at once. So persevere! Fran

  3. Fran, that looks yummy! (The salad, not the goldfinch, although he’s adorable.) You could even add a couple layers of hardboiled egg or shrimp or ham for extra protein. Speaking of salads, did you hear that iceberg lettuce is now considered a superfood? I have always eschewed (ie, not chewed 🙂 ) iceberg because I thought it was an expensive absolute nothing except water. Not so. Apparently, it has tons of vitamins and minerals! Who woulda thought?

Leave a Reply

