Cinnamon Toast Cake and Milkweed Pods

IMG_1551I have a stack of old Pillsbury Bake Off recipe books, and really enjoy looking through them, especially from the older contests. (The Bake Off started in 1947.) It’s in the older books that you find family heirlooms and gems, like this recipe for a Cinnamon Toast Cake. The moment I saw the recipe, I knew I had to try it. My Mom made cinnamon toast for us when I was a kid. She toasted bread, slathered it with butter, and sprinkled it with sugar and cinnamon. Then she cut it into fingers. It was a real treat. This recipe is made with a thin layer of cake that is topped with melted butter, sugar and cinnamon. This is comfort food, and I am sending Jim off with it to work or else I will eat too much of it myself! Unlike cinnamon toast, this is best cut and eaten when completely cooled.

Cinnamon Toast Cake

Grease a 15 x 10″ jelly roll pan and lightly flour the bottom. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

IMG_15472 cups flour
1 cup sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup milk
2 tablespoons melted butter
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 cup raisins, if desired

Sift together the dry ingredients. Blend together the milk, melted butter, and vanilla. Pour into the dry ingredients and mix just until blended. Turn into the prepared pan and bake for 20 to 25 minutes, or until golden brown.

While the cake is in the oven, melt 1/2 cup butter and combine 1/2 cup sugar with 2 teaspoons cinnamon.

When the cake comes out of the oven (don’t turn the oven off), pour the melted butter all over it, smoothing it with a spoon. It will seem like a lot of butter, but keep pouring. Then sprinkle the cinnamon sugar over all, trying to sprinkle it evenly. Put back into the  oven and bake for 10 more minutes. It will come out golden brown.

Baking notes: When you are spreading the batter in the pan, it will only by about 1/2″ high. Also, the original recipe called for raisins, which I’m not usually crazy about, but I think they would be a plus here. I did add some freshly grated nutmeg to add another flavor note, and it was nice.

I really like this recipe–it’s easy and chances are you’ll have all the ingredients on hand. It would be a nice treat for Christmas morning.

IMG_1541

I’m still caught in the surprisingly strong grips of goldfinches, try as I might to be indifferent. They may be a common bird, but they are so sweet! I took these photos an hour ago.

IMG_1576

IMG_1580

IMG_1584 IMG_1586 IMG_1587 IMG_1588

Fall has appeared here on our doorstep quite suddenly, rattling us with gusts of cold wind. I found these milkweed pods in the act of launching their silky seed parachutes off to the universe.

IMG_1491 IMG_1492 IMG_1493 IMG_1495 IMG_1496

IMG_1499 IMG_1501

Peace to you. Fran

 

 

2 thoughts on “Cinnamon Toast Cake and Milkweed Pods

  1. Oh my gosh, those look so amazingly delicious. It makes me so hungry that I will go eat one soup cracker. Your photo work is exquisite!

Leave a Reply

