A Brownie Cake, and a Catbird Flies Away

IMG_3341

As you may have noticed, I like recipes that are really good, but also really easy. I’ve done enough baking to know that you can make complicated, brow furrowing things that taste good, but finding that recipe combining easy and good is not so easy! So here’s a nice Self-Frosted Brownie Cake. You mix it in one bowl, top it with brown sugar and chocolate chips, and, there you are–a Self-Frosted Brownie Cake. It’s beautifully light textured, and the topping is crunchy. Just be sure to soften your butter well, and I recommend using an electric mixer for this–it will come together in no time.

IMG_3334

Self-Frosted Brownie Cake

IMG_33171-3/4 cups flour
1 cup sugar
1/4 cup baking cocoa
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup milk
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 cup chopped pecans
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1 cup semi-sweet mini chips

Heat oven to 350 degrees. Combine flour, sugar, cocoa, baking powder, and salt in a large bowl. Add milk, softened butter, egg and vanilla. Beat at medium speed with an electric mixer, scraping bowl often, until well mixed. Stir in pecans by hand.

Spread batter into a greased 13×9-inch baking pan. Sprinkle with brown sugar and chocolate chips.

Bake for 30 to 35 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool completely before cutting.

A cat bird appeared this morning and I caught these pictures. Unexpectedly, cat birds are among my favorite birds–even though not bright and colorful, they are sleek and subtle, and I enjoy them.

IMG_3328 IMG_3329 IMG_3330 IMG_3331 IMG_3332

I must confess that my heart is heavy today, because our dear cat Moose is very ill. I’m not usually superstitious, but seeing the cat bird fly away made me wonder if it wasn’t a sign–that Moose will be leaving, too. Hope not, but it doesn’t look too good. All things in this world seem to be connected. Please take care. Fran

5/3 I am sad to say that Moose didn’t make it. We will miss him so much. Fran

 

13 thoughts on “A Brownie Cake, and a Catbird Flies Away

  1. Aunt Fran, I’m so sorry to hear that Moose isn’t doing well. I’ll be thinking of you all today. Here’s hoping the catbird returns soon. Love, Anne

  2. Simply on principle, when I was in Finley and Jill and Derek’s house today, and I was petting Figaro, the cat whose portrait Jim painted, I told him about Moose. Yes, I know he didn’t understand but it made me feel a little better.

Leave a Reply

