Top Secret Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe!

IMG_4010While not the worst thing in the world, chocolate chip cookies that emerge from the oven as flat as a pancake can be a bit disappointing. There have been whole magazine and newspaper articles written about the flat chocolate chip cookie problem, though, to me, it’s just the way they are: buttery, delicious and flat. I knew that the flatness was a function of the high butter content–butter melts at a very low temperature, so that the traditional chocolate chip cookie actually melts in the oven before it gets a chance to bake. However, just the other day, I tried a new, different chocolate chip cookie recipe, and they came out plump! Just to make sure, I made them again today, and they still were plump! The recipe has a little bit more flour and sugar than the original formula–just enough to avoid the flatness, but still buttery and luscious. They will make you look like a pro baker, and you can decide whether to share the recipe or not! Here’s the recipe, which comes from an ancient copy of Good Housekeeping Favorite Recipes: Bake It!

Chocolate Chip Cookies

IMG_40181-1/2 cups flour
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened
3/4 cup packed brown sugar
1/4 cup white sugar
2-1/2 teaspoons vanilla
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 egg
1-1/2 cups mini chocolate chips
handful of sliced almonds (optional)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees, and line a cookie sheet with parchment paper. In a bowl, measure flour, baking soda and salt. In another, larger, bowl thoroughly mix the softened butter with the brown and white sugars, until no butter streaks remain. This can be done by hand. Add the egg and vanilla and beat well, until fluffy. Then add the flour mixture. Add in the chocolate chips and the almonds, if desired.

I used a one tablespoon cookie scoop to scoop out the dough. Bake for about 11 minutes. The bottom of the cookie should be a light golden brown, not dark golden. Makes about 24 cookies.

Baking notes: Butter is very sensitive to warmth, and the second time I made these cookies they were slightly flatter than the first, because my kitchen was warmer! The butter in this recipe should be softened just enough to mix pretty easily, but shouldn’t be very soft, oily or runny. You can use any amount of chocolate chips you want. Long ago, I can remember my mother using half a 6-ounce bag of chips, to economize. Nowadays, though, we like lots of chips!

Also, the original recipe had you put all of the ingredients in one bowl, and beat with an electric beater until combined. I will try this next time!

The large hostas are in full flower now, and I always think their flowers are way underrated.

IMG_3826

IMG_3958

Puff is the most photogenic kitty, at least to me, so I can’t resist including a few more photos.

IMG_3979 IMG_3981 IMG_3982

Lastly, just a  goldfinch! But I love his feathered cloak. Have a good week. Fran

IMG_4004

6 thoughts on “Top Secret Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe!

  1. That does it – I sent this recipe to my daughter Brittany and asked her to make them for me for my birthday present. Once a year I can have a couple of cookies, right?

    As for Puff, what a handsome furhead!

Leave a comment