A Sweet Goldfinch

Friday I was sitting out on our patio on a bench with a lichen-encrusted wooden seat that threatens to collapse at any moment. Somehow this never moves me to replace the bench–as a human being, I never think that a disaster will happen now. Surely, tomorrow. I continue reading, my camera at my side. I’ve found that when I come outside, all birds flee, but if I sit for awhile reading, they become accustomed–or perhaps bored with–my presence and go back to whatever they were doing–mainly flitting from branch to branch for no very good seeming reason, and eating. From the corner of my eye, I saw a female goldfinch alight on the Joe Pye weed, which has gone to seed, and I started to take her picture. There is a dignity to some birds, even when thistledown is hanging from their beak, that is so sweet that it makes me smile.
IMG_4201 IMG_4202 IMG_4203

IMG_4210

IMG_4215 IMG_4216 IMG_4217 IMG_4218

Same plant, different bird!

IMG_4226

Lastly, I may be the only person to think so, but pachysandra is beautiful! Have a good week. Fran

IMG_4230

4 thoughts on “A Sweet Goldfinch

  1. It self seeds, but I wouldn’t call it invasive. It’s a tall prairie native that stays upright and has nice pink/purple flower heads. it attracts butterflies and birds. If you want something smaller and don’t like anything that self seeds, Google “compact Eupatorium,”–there are a number of cultivars available.

Leave a Reply

