Sugary, Crackly Chocolate Chip Cookies

IMG_4638After my brief foray into carrots in the last post, I find myself back where I feel most comfortable, in a warm, cozy kitchen making cookies. It’s not that we aren’t eating vegetables, but I feel lackluster and weak talking about them–my pulse drops, I lose interest in life. And then I found another recipe for one of the best chocolate chip cookies, ever. Yes, I’ve posted other “best” recipes for chocolate chip cookies, but I guess each is the best in its own way. This recipe, which I ran across on a package of Baker’s Corner Milk Chocolate Morsels, surprised me by yielding crackly cookies. In the next batch, I took it one step further and tried rolling each ball of cookie dough in  sugar. They came out sugary, glittery and crackly. Woo hoo! These would be great for a Christmas cookie platter–they are like chocolate chip cookies all dressed up for a party!

Sugary, Crackly Chocolate Chip Cookies

IMG_46322/3 cup unsalted butter, melted
2 cups brown sugar
2 eggs
2 tablespoons hot water
11.5 oz. chocolate morsels
2-2/3 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoons baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt

sugar, about 1/3 cup

Preheat oven to 375 degrees, and line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Melt the butter in a large saucepan, and add the brown sugar. Set aside and allow to cool off as you mix the dry ingredients in a separate bowl. Beat the eggs lightly. Add the eggs and hot water to the melted butter in the saucepan, and stir well. Stir in dry ingredients, and then mix in chocolate morsels. Set aside for about 5 to 10 minutes as you clean up, so the dough can firm up. Roll into teaspoonfuls, and then roll in sugar. Place on baking sheet. Bake for about 8 to 10 minutes, or until golden brown. Makes about two dozen cookies.

Baking notes: I used Baker’s Corner 60% Cacao Bittersweet Chocolate Premium Baking Cbips, but you could use any type of chocolate chips. Be sure to set the dough aside while you clean up. It will cool off and firm up. A small cookie scoop makes neat-looking cookies.

The pattern for the above tea towel is from Aunt Martha’s embroidery transfers. It’s called Baby Chicks Tea Towels #4014.

Here is a little sparrow I saw the other day, just sitting in the sun. Peace to you. Fran

IMG_4607 IMG_4608 IMG_4609 IMG_4610 IMG_4611 IMG_4612 IMG_4613

 

2 thoughts on “Sugary, Crackly Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

