No-Bake Chocolate Daisy Cookies and a Hummingbird

IMG_6375

Before we get to the hummingbird (which I’m pretty excited about!), I’d like to share an easy recipe for No-Bake Chocolate Daisy Cookies. As usual, I had been riffling through old magazine clippings, and had found a recipe for No-Bake Chocolate Cookie Squares from the Baker’s chocolate company. It sounded good and easy: broken up cookies are added to a mixture of melted chocolate and butter. The mixture is chilled, and cut into shards.

Since it’s still pretty warm out, I liked the idea of “no-bake,” and found myself heading to our local Blue Goose grocery store for chocolate. Suddenly, I had a brainstorm! How about placing the cookies on top of the chocolate, and how about using the cookies of my childhood, the daisy-like Salerno Butter Cookies?

I came back home loaded with chocolate and cookies and set to work. I found that sixteen cookies fit perfectly into a 9-inch pan. I also made allowances for the fact that the Baker’s chocolate people had decreased the size of their chocolate bar since the recipe was published. I found myself at a Canadian site that showed the original recipe–it had half the butter. (Sometimes the simplest recipes are the hardest!) I donned my mad scientist jacket and hat, and started melting butter and chopping chocolate, and here is the result. The finished cookie combines the crispness of the butter cookie and the melt-in-the-mouth butteriness of the chocolate. Plus the crunch of the pistachios. Easy and delicious!

IMG_6386

No-Bake Chocolate Daisy Cookies

2 four-ounce boxes of Baker’s semi-sweet baking chocolate
1/2 cup (one stick) butter
16 Salerno Butter Cookies
handful of chopped pistachios

Line a 9-inch pan with parchment paper. Coarsely chop the two bars of chocolate and place into a microwave-safe bowl. Cut up the butter into chunks, and add to the chocolate. Microwave on half power for three minutes, stopping to stir twice. After three minutes, stir until completely smooth. (On my machine, half power was number five out of nine.) Using a spatula, scrape melted chocolate and butter mixture into the prepared pan. Smooth with the back of a spoon. Carefully place the 16 cookies on top of the chocolate, press down a bit, and sprinkle with the chopped pistachios. Place into refrigerator and allow to harden–at least one hour. Cut into pieces. Store uneaten cookies in the fridge.

The pictures below show the two bars of chocolate that are used, as well as how to coarsely cut up the chocolate, and how to place the cookies on the melted chocolate.

Notes: If you don’t want to use the Salerno Butter Cookies, you can use one cup of broken cookies of your choice, such as shortbread cookies or even peanut butter cookies. Be sure to use half power on your microwave when melting!

For Christmas, you could use white chocolate with added chopped dried cranberries. Place the cookies on top, and sprinkle with chopped pistachios.

IMG_6385

We’ve had a hummingbird visiting our garden, apparently attracted to our red and pink zinnias. I’ve despaired of ever catching a photo of one, because they do zip around quickly. But the other day, I was standing by the zinnias when the hummingbird flew right up to me, and stared at me–I felt a moment of complete joy. I had my camera, and as the bird flew over to the zinnias, I caught this picture. If you look closely, you can see his beating wings. Hope you enjoy! Peace to you. Fran

IMG_6311

 

 

Leave a Reply

