Giant Toffee-Chocolate Chip Cookies and a Skipper

img_6548

I wish I could say I had a reason for baking these Giant Toffee-Chocolate Chip Cookies, but no rational can be found, except that I just like baking cookies. And this recipe has been calling to me for awhile. Could they possibly be as delicious as they looked in the “Betty Crocker Baking with Love” cookbook, in the chapter titled “Irresistible Cookies”? As it turns out, yes! Big and buttery, crunchy with Heath Bar English Toffee Bits, they are like chocolate chip cookies on steroids. I scooped out the dough with a big 1/4-cup ice cream scooper, but you can make them by the tablespoon for smaller cookies. Either way, these are awfully good!

Giant Toffee-Chocolate Chip Cookies

1 cup packed  brown sugar
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened
1/2 cup shortening
1/4 cup honey
1 egg
2 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 12-ounce package miniature semisweet chocolate chips
1 package (8-ounce) milk chocolate toffee bits

Heat oven to 350 degrees, and line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Mix together the flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt. Set aside. In a large bowl, mix brown sugar, butter, shortening, honey and egg. Beat together (a big spoon can be used) until smooth and light. Stir in the flour mixture, and then the chocolate chips and brick chips. Using a 1/4-cup ice cream scoop, drop dough onto cookie sheet, and bake for 12 to 14 minutes or until edges are golden brown. Centers will still be soft. Allow to cool a bit on baking sheet before moving to wire rack. Makes 21 cookies.

Baking notes: As I’ve mentioned, you can make these smaller–bake for about 10 to 12 minutes. I used Heath Bar English Toffee Bits. The original recipe called for a 6-ounce bag of the toffee bits, but the bag I purchased was 8 ounces. So in a fit of wild abandon, I threw in all 8-ounces of chips.

A Silver-Spotted Skipper

Now that I’ve seen one skipper, I seem to see them everywhere: my skipper consciousness has been raised! Here is a silver-spotted skipper, daintily perched on a sedum. He gets his name from the distinctive silver patch on his hindwing.

img_6494

img_6502 img_6503

Flying away!
Flying away!

This is aster season, and here is a picture of a purple aster I saw out at Otter Creek Nature Preserve this weekend. I think it’s a New York aster, but don’t quote me on that! Peace. Fran

img_6536

Note: I’ve made a few changes in the format of this blog, with the aim of making it easier to read! Hope you like, but I would like to hear any comments, yea or nay. Fran

 

2 thoughts on “Giant Toffee-Chocolate Chip Cookies and a Skipper

  1. Great pics as always, and those cookies look awesome. I like your new blog look – not sure if it is ‘easier’ to read because I had no problem before but it does look nice.

Leave a Reply

