Chocolate-Dipped Peanut Butter Cookies

img_6787I’ve been asked a number of times if I have any good recipes for gluten-free cookies. My quibble with gluten-free cookies is that they often taste okay–considering they are gluten-free–but I wanted something that, gluten-free or not, was wonderful. So I set the bar high. Also, many gluten-free cookies call for a list of special ingredients that can be expensive, and if you don’t care for the cookie, you’re left with a bag of tapioca flour sitting on your shelf for an eternity.

So far, I’ve come up with the following Chocolate-Dipped Peanut Butter Cookies. They are based on the famous three-ingredient peanut butter cookie, the recipe for which can be found in many a community cookbook. The three-ingredient peanut butter cookie is made with peanut butter, sugar, and an egg–no flour– and bakes up into a nice little cookie. Yum. Then I came across a version in “Gluten-Free Cookies,” by Luane Kohnke. She reduced the sugar a bit and added some baking soda. I decided to try it. The cookie fluffed up, and was lighter and crisper than the original. Yum! Yum! But it looked naked. So I melted a bar of Hershey’s chocolate and chopped some salted, roasted peanuts. I dipped the cookies in the melted chocolate, and then in the salty peanuts. Triple Yum!

These cookies melt in your mouth, and you will probably nibble the cookie, leaving the chocolate and salty peanuts for last, and then, chomp! Hope you enjoy.

Chocolate-Dipped Peanut Butter Cookies

1 cup creamy peanut butter
3/4 cup sugar
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 egg, beaten
Hershey’s Milk Chocolate (4.4 oz. bar)
roasted, salted peanuts, chopped

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line a baking sheet with parchment.

In a large bowl, mix together sugar and baking soda. Add peanut butter and beaten  egg, and mix well. Let sit for a few minutes as you tidy up–the batter will firm up a bit. With a small cookie scoop (about 1 tablespoon), drop dough onto prepared cookie sheet. Have some sugar ready in a small bowl, and butter the bottom of glass. Dip the glass into the sugar, and use it to flatten the cookie. Bake for about 12 minutes, or until bottom of cookie is lightly browned. Let cool.

Break up the milk chocolate and melt in a small Pyrex bowl. Dip a cookie into the melted chocolate, and then into the chopped peanuts. Set on wax paper to harden.

Baking notes: Any roasted, salted peanuts can be used. I bought some Fisher nuts, 5.5 oz. Some nuts were left over. I used Skippy Natural Creamy Peanut Butter. Some natural (unhomogenized) peanut butters separate and have an oily layer–stir the peanut butter before using. Also, you don’t have to dip all the cookies in nuts–see below.

img_6785
img_6788

Meanwhile, in the bird world, stuff is always going on. I heard the chirping of a young goldfinch, ran for my camera, and was able to take these photos of a mother goldfinch feeding a young, perhaps teenaged, goldfinch, and learned something about their lives. Mother robins feed their young worms, but the mother goldfinch was using suet. I had always thought goldfinches only ate seeds, but at one point I did see suet dribbling down the young bird’s chin!

img_6576

img_6579 img_6580

Dinner is over!
Dinner is over!

Lastly, a leaf caught in a spider web. Peace to you.

img_6773 img_6774

8 thoughts on “Chocolate-Dipped Peanut Butter Cookies

  1. I sent your recipe to my daughter Brittany, whose boyfriend cannot eat gluten. I expect I might even be able to nibble one of them.

  2. Wow, these turned out so beautifully. You are making me drool here! Your photography is stunning. I want some of these! So glad I found your blog. These look spectacular 🙂 Are the cookies on the crunchy side or chewy? The dipping is a wonderful idea!

Leave a Reply

